I’m the first one to admit that I love to look good because look good, feel good right? Sometimes being on the road three days a week doesn’t always make it easy to keep your beauty habits up to par. Over the years and many weeks filled with barrel racing, in many, many conditions I have tried to find the easiest ways to keep up my beauty habits and routine on the road.

If you are a barrel racer or really equestrian of any kind usually by Sunday my hair is usually 85% dry shampoo in a messy bun and my mascara is two days old.

Recently my essentials have expanded and for Christmas one of my gifts was a Baggallini which I realized was perfect for all of my products. On Black Friday I stocked up on all the “stocking stuffers” of my favorite items from facewash to eye shadow primer because they are the perfect size to take with me on the weekend. Ulta had my favorite Philosophy face wash and Urban Decay eyeshadow primer on sale both which I couldn’t resist missing out on. Having a set of all the travel size products I can’t go without is so much easier because you can leave them in the trailer, keep them all together, and spend less time packing and unpacking. Besides my makeup bag, I don’t ever leave home without makeup wipes, Batiste dry shampoo, and Tarte lights-camera-lashes 4 in 1 mascara.

_10529638

Weekends barrel racing usually means summertime sunshine. Just like any other girl I love that all the summer sunshine means getting some color in my skin, especially my face, and for me that means less makeup. I no longer feel the need to put on moisturizer, concealer, foundation, finishing powder, and blush. Instead it’s usually moisturizer, concealer, and finishing powder all put on in the drive thru of the coffee stand at 5 a.m. My favorite concealer is Bare Minerals, finishing powder by MAC, and my Neutrogena moisturizer. Other times I wake up 5 minutes early on day two to put a face on because by this time my feet hurt, I’m over tired, my hair is 85% dry shampoo, and this is the one part of me that can look good and feel good quickly.

I try my best to come prepared for every situation. Running water and power when you pull into a “campground” are luxuries. More often than not you’re parked in a field with only the water you have in your trailer, living out of cooler, thankful your trailer has a battery so you have an electric plug for your phone charger and lights at night. If you know me, you know I like to take good care of my skin! This being said no matter what every night I always make sure to take off my makeup even if I don’t get to wash my face and apply a moisturizer before bed.

Top Beauty Products on the Road (that won’t break the bank)

1. Batiste Dry Shampoo
http://www.ulta.com/dry-shampoo?productId=xlsImpprod2040049#
This is found at Target, Ulta, Walmart, but I buy it from Marshalls or TJ Maxx because it’s only $4.79 a can!
2. Neutrogena Oil- Free Acne Moisturizer
http://www.ulta.com/oil-free-acne-moisturizer?productId=xlsImpprod12041845
I’ve found the best deal at Ulta because hello more rewards points and you can use their weekly coupon on it.
3. Makeup wipes
http://tjmaxx.tjx.com/store/jump/product/women-beauty-makeup/3pk-Facial-Cleansing-Wipes/1000194356?colorId=NS1003538&pos=1:1&N=4099689032
I think the Marshalls or TJ Maxx ones for $2.99 – $3.99 are comparable to the Neutrogena ones for usually $8.00.
4. Tarte lights- camera- lashes 4 in 1 mascara
http://tartecosmetics.com/tarte-item-lights-camera-lashes-mascara
This is one product I will spend more money on ($21) however, sometimes Tarte.com has sales and you can get it for $10 a tube!

I could go on for days and days about skin care, makeup products, hair products, what I’ve found that works, what doesn’t, so if you have any questions feel free to contact me!

 

Stay looking good and feeling good, barrel racing beauties!

 

 

